Latest NewsIndiaNEWS

Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura election results : Here’s all the details

Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura election results : Here’s all the details

The counting of votes for the Assembly elections in three Northeastern  states —  Meghalaya,  Nagaland, and Tripura — will be held on Saturday amid tight security, officials said.

The BJP has emerged as a strong contender in all the three states and two exit polls have predicted that the party would dethrone the 25-year-old Left Front government in Tripura and consolidate its position in Nagaland and Meghalaya.

Also Read : Security ensemble gets ready; 3 states’ vote counting to begin soon

Here’s all you need to know:

* In Tripura, which went to polls on February 18, the BJP is likely to wrest power from the 25-year-old CPM government, with two exit polls predicting that the saffron party-led alliance may win over 35 seats in the state. However, a third exit poll predicts a close contest between the CPM and the BJP in the 60-member assembly.

Despite large-scale snags in VVPATs (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trails) and EVMs (Electronic Voting Machines), over 92 per cent (excluding 50,770 postal ballots) of Tripura’s 2,536,589 voters cast their votes on February 18, setting a new record in the electoral history of India.* Though the strength of each of the assemblies in the three states is 60 members, voting was held in 59 constituencies for different reasons.

  • * While a CPM candidate died in Tripura, a Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate was killed in Meghalaya, which resulted in countermanding of the polls in one seat each in the two states. In Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio, the three-time former CM and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party candidate, was elected unopposed in Northern Angami-II seat.

    * In Meghalaya, which went to polls on February 27, BJP will be challenging the Congress, which has been in power for the last ten years.

    * The Congress fielded 59 candidates, while the BJP put up nominees in 47 constituencies. For the first time, Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma is contesting from two seats.

* In Nagaland, BJP has joined hands with the NDPP that was floated by former chief minister Neiphiu Rio. The NDPP is contesting on 40 seats and the saffron party on 20.

The Congress, which has given three chief ministers to Nagaland since the state’s inception in 1963, is contesting only in 18 seats, two less than the BJP.

* Nagaland recorded around 75 per cent voter turnout in the assembly election amid sporadic violence which led to the death of a person in Zunheboto district.

* Re-polling was ordered at 13 polling stations across nine constituencies in Nagaland following reports of snatching of EVMs, misuse of electoral photo identity cards and miscreants not allowing voters to exercise their franchise.


Post Your Comments

Back to top button