DH Latest NewsDH NEWSLatest NewsIndiaNEWS

Tamil Nadu Govt renames 3 Metro Rail stations

Chennai : Tamil Nadu government on Friday announced renaming of three Metro Rail stations after late Chief Ministers C N Annadurai, M G Ramachandran and J Jayalalithaa. Welcoming the move, the BJP state unit, however, demanded that certain other metro rail stations be named after the late stalwarts, B R Ambedkar and Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

According to a government order, the Alandur station will be called ‘Arignar Anna Alandur Metro’, the Central Metro as ‘Puratchi Thalaivar Dr M G Ramachandran Central Metro’ and the CMBT station as ‘Puratchi Thalaivi Dr J Jayalalithaa CMBT Metro.’

Chief Minister K Palaniswami said the stations have been renamed after the state government accepted the recommendations of a high-level committee.

He also listed out the steps taken by the AIADMK government under Jayalalithaa in implementing the Metro Rail project in the city.

On the second phase of Chennai Metro Rail, the chief minister said the Rs 61,843 crore project comprises three corridors: Madhavaram to SIPCOT, Light House to Poonamallee and Madhavaram to Sholinganallur, spanning 118.9 km.

Post Your Comments

Back to top button