Latest NewsIndiaNEWS

Names of the outstanding MP’s of the year 2013-2017 revealed

Biju Jnada Dal MP Shatruhari Mhatab will be conferred the outstanding Award for 2017 instituted by The Indian Parliamentary Group.
TMC’s Lok Sabha MP Dinesh Trivedi would get the award for 2016 and Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha and Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad would get it for 2015, the Lok Sabha secretariat said in a statement.
The awards for the last five years have been announced IPG said former Rajya Sabha member Najma Heptulla gets the award for 2013 and Lok Sabha member Hukumdev Narayan Yadav for 2014. Both are members of the BJP.
Also, read: 
The awardees were chosen by a committee headed by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and others in the committee included Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP veteran L K Advani, Deputy Chairman of the Upper House P J Kurien, Congress leader Karan Singh and Ram Bhadur Rai, head of the Indira Gandhi National Centre For Arts.
Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar was a special invite to the committee.
The criterions that were used to select the winners included heir experience, debating skills, awareness of issues and the depth with which issues were raised, an official said.
Other things that were taken into account for announcing winners included member’s observance of the rules of procedure, maintenance of dignity and contribution in parliamentary committees among others.
The names of the winners were recommended by the committee to the IPG which is an autonomous body of 24 members headed by the speaker.


Post Your Comments

Back to top button