DH Latest NewsDH NEWSDelhiLatest NewselectionsNEWSIndiamembers and peoplePolitics

BJP’s Presidential Pick Highlights ‘Modi’s Dedication’ to Tribal Welfare: Amit Shah

Union Home Minister Amit Shah applauded the BJP-led NDA’s announcement of former Jharkhand governor Droupadi Murmu as its presidential candidate for the 2019 elections. Amit Shah emphasised that the move reflects Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s dedication to the welfare of women and tribals.

Amit Shah posted a series of tweets regarding Droupadi Murmu being selected as the BJP’s presidential candidate, saying, ‘Today is a critical day for the country. This choice will help to boost tribal pride to unprecedented heights. I congratulate Modi ji on this achievement’.

‘Droupadi Murmu ji has carved herself a unique personality in public life by raising awareness about education in tribal community and serving the public as a public representative for a long period. I wish her the best of luck in her bid for this prestigious position, and I am confident she will be successful ‘, he said in a subsequent tweet.

The Union Minister emphasised that, whether it is women’s empowerment or restoring tribal pride under PM Modi’s leadership, the level of effort done in this regard in the previous eight years has never been done. ‘ Today’s decision reflects Modi ji’s unflinching commitment to the welfare of women and tribals,’┬áhe said.

The presidential election
Because President Ram Nath Kovind’s tenure ends on July 24, an election to replace the vacancy will be conducted on July 18. The President will be elected by a secret vote by the Electoral College, which will consist of elected members of both Houses of Parliament and Legislative Assemblies. The deadline for registering presidential nominations is June 29. The polls will open on July 18, and the results will be counted on July 21. Ram Nath Kovind’s tenure expires on July 24, and the next president should be chosen before that date.

If elected, Droupadi Murmu will be the first indigenous woman to hold the highest constitutional position. She was the governor of Jharkhand from 2015 until 2021. While the opposition has named former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha as a joint contender for the seat.


Post Your Comments

Back to top button