DH NEWSDH Latest NewsLatest NewsIndiaNEWSSports

BCCI announces appointments of Senior Men Selection Committee; Chetan Sharma to head panel


Mumbai: The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), comprising Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape, on Saturday undertook an extensive process for selecting members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee.

The committee further recommended Chetan Sharma for the role of chairman of the senior men’s selection committee. Sharma, who has 23 Test caps, had been holding the post in the previous selection committee since December, 2020, when he replaced Sunil Joshi in the role. He had re-applied for a role in the selection committee when the BCCI made an announcement for new applications for a fresh five-member panel on November 18, 2022.

The Board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on November 18, 2022. Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the Committee recommended outgoing chief selector Chetan Sharma, Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola and Sridharan Sharath for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the appointment of a three-member Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) in December, comprising former India cricketers Ashok Malhotra, Jatin Paranjape alongside Sulakshana Naik, to elect the selection committee. The first task of the new selection committee will be to pick the squads for India’s white-ball series against New Zealand, set to happen later in the month.



Post Your Comments

Back to top button