UP CM Yogi Adityanath, four others take oath as Members of Legislative Council

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath took oath as the Member of Legislative Council on Monday. Two Deputy Chief Ministers KP Maurya and Dinesh Sharma along with ministerial colleagues Swatantra Dev Singh and Mohsin Raza also took oath besides Adityanath.

Adityanath took the oath after meeting the compulsory six-month deadline to get elected to either house of the state after assuming office.

Raza, a minister of state, is only Muslim face in the 48-member council of ministers in UP.

The five were recently declared ‘elected unopposed’ to the state Legislative Council in by-elections to five seats that fell vacant when the sitting members resigned recently.

With this, BJP’s tally is up to 13 in the 100-member Upper House – the only place where the Opposition still enjoys the majority. The Samajwadi Party (SP) has 61 members in the Legislative Council, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) nine, the Congress two and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) one. While 12 seats are held by ‘others’, two are vacant.

The ceremony took place at 11 am on Monday at the Tilak Hall of the legislative building in Lucknow, with Legislative Council Chairman Ramesh Yadav administering the oath.


Post Your Comments

Back to top button