Latest NewsNEWSmembers and peopleGulfInternationalPolitics

UAE listed countries’ expatriates don’t need a test for driving

The expatriates who move into the UAE intend to stay on for more than a few months to get a UAE driving licence.

But while a majority of expats have to attend an elaborate driving test, which includes a certain number of driving classes, there are a select few countries whose licence-holders get a free pass to yearn to possess UAE driver’s licence.

That is an evolving list, and now, licence-holders in 13 more countries can swap their driving licence (issued in their home country) with a UAE driving licence.

According to a list posted on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation’s website, these 13 countries are:

1. Austria
2. Slovakia
3. Luxembourg
4. China
5. Portugal
6. Finland
7. Romania
8. Denmark
9. Serbia
10. Poland
11. Netherlands
12. Latvia
13. Lithuania

For those UAE expats who hold a driver’s licence in any of these 13 countries, life got a little easier.

The following documents are required for converting a foreign driving licence in Dubai:

– A valid original driving licence

– Valid residence visa issued by Dubai

– A completed form of replacement of licence

– No objection letter from sponsor to replace licence and optometry form accredited by the health authority in the emirate.

Read More: Chennithala’s slyness won in Chengannoor; Hassan became a laughing stock:Oomen Chandy failed!

The addition of these countries now takes to 30 the list of total exempted countries whose citizens can get their licences ‘exchanged’ in the UAE. These are:

1. United Kingdom
2. United States of America
3. France
4. Japan
5. Germany
6. Italy
7. Belgium
8. Netherland
9. Switzerland
10. Denmark
11. Greece
12. Spain
13. Sweden
14. Ireland
15. Norway
16. Turkey
17. Canada
18. Poland
19. South Korea
20. Finland
21. South Africa
22. Australia
23. Romania
24. New Zealand
25. Singapore
26. Hong Kong
27. Austria
28. Slovakia
29. Luxembourg
30. Serbia

It is important to note that this list, available on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website, is different from the list followed by Dubai’s Roads and Transport Authority (RTA).

According to the Dubai RTA list, countries from these countries can transfer their driving licences: Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Kuwait, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.

Post Your Comments

Back to top button