Achal Kumar Jyoti is new Chief Election Commissioner of India

Senior most Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti has been appointed the next Chief Election Commissioner, the Ministry of Law and Justice said on Tuesday.

Jyoti, a 1975 batch IAS officer of the Gujarat cadre, will assume the charge with effect from July 6, consequent upon demitting office by the outgoing CEC Dr Nasim Zaidi on July 5. He will be succeeded by his junior, Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat, a 1977-batch former IAS officer from Madhya Pradesh cadre.


Post Your Comments

Back to top button