Health & FitnessLife Style

Know India’s favourite love language

Love is an amazing feeling, and it can be expressed in many different ways. The concept of love language has introduced by Dr Gary Chapman in his 1992 book ‘The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate’. According to him, there are five love languages (or rather five ways to express your love).

They are the following:

Words of affirmation (words that communicate your love, appreciation, and respect for another person)

Quality time

Receiving gifts

Acts of service

Physical touch

Physical Touch: Physical touch is one of the powerful forms of communication. It is a language that conveys love, affection, comfort, and closeness. Physical touch includes any type of physical contact like holding hands, cuddling, hugging, kissing, or giving a massage.

Words of Affirmation: Words of affirmation are an important way for couples to show their feelings for each other. This could include telling your partner how much you appreciate them or expressing your gratitude for what they do for you. Using words of affirmation can help strengthen your relationship by making your partner feel valued and appreciated.

Also Read: Follow these simple tips to keep romance alive in your relationship 

Quality Time: Quality time is another way for couples to express their love for each other. It can be as simple as taking a walk together or having dinner with just the two of you. Spending quality time together can help deepen your connection and will  help keep your relationship strong and happy.

Acts of Service: This could include doing chores that your partner usually does or taking on extra responsibilities so they have more free time. Acts of service show that you care about your partner and are willing to do whatever it takes to make them happy.

Gifts: Gifting is another way to show your love and appreciation for your partner.

Chapman’s theory states that each person has a primary and secondary love language that shapes how they communicate affection and feel most appreciated.

In a relationship, identifying one’s love language and their partner’s love languages is crucial.  This will improve emotional connections and fostering deeper intimacy. The importance of love languages lies in their ability to enhance communication, deepen emotional connections, and increase satisfaction within relationships.

According to Delhi-based relationship counsellor, Ruchi Ruuh, acts of service were an average Indian’s language of love.

‘Acts of service, like running errands for your partner (getting dhania and mirchi), making Sunday breakfast, paying the bills, or just asking if they have reached home safely; Indian couples have always been practical when it comes to expressing their love in relationships,’ Ruchi Ruuh said.

‘Over the last few decades we have seen more inclusion of words of affirmation (expressing love with I love yous), physical touch (we are exploring PDA too) like sitting closer to each other, kissing. Couples now also insist on quality time via date nights or romantic weekend getaways. Gifts, big or small have always been a part of our love language as it makes the expression easier with tokens of love,’ she added.

According to dating app Bumble’s Modern Romance Report 2024, ‘food is a popular love language’. Cooking and sharing meals will strengthen relationships.



Post Your Comments

Back to top button